Strategic Transportation Safety Plan


Safety Photo

Sun Corridor MPO rolls out new online tool so public can identify unsafe areas

Sun Corridor MPO is inviting the public to use a new online community engagement tool to identify areas they think are dangerous for driving, biking and/or walking. To participate, the public should visit the interactive website at

In addition to using the software to view a map and pinpoint problem spots on it, users can also add comments, provide details about specific safety concerns and can even attach pictures.

“We want to hear from anyone who moves about the Sun Corridor MPO area and can point out areas where there are problems. We want to tap into the experiences people have when they go to work, drop their children off at school, use sidewalks and paths or cross our intersections. This will really help us make good decisions,” said Irene Higgs of Sun Corridor MPO.

For the years 2005-2014, the Sun Corridor MPO area experienced 16,525 crashes, 243 of which were fatal. Another 640 crashes resulted in incapacitating injuries.

Input gathered from the website will influence what projects will be included in a Strategic Transportation Safety Plan (STSP), which is being prepared for the entire Sun Corridor MPO planning area, that includes Casa Grande, Coolidge, Eloy and portions of Pinal County. A technical advisory committee will work with stakeholders and the general public to develop projects utilizing Highway Safety Improvement (HSIP) funding.

The safety study will establish a regional vision, objectives, strategies and performance measures for transportation safety that are consistent with the Arizona Strategic Highway Safety Plan (SHSP) developed in 2014 and will be a guide for future safety projects.



Contact Person: Jason Hafner, Sun Corridor MPO
211 North Florence Street, Ste. 103
Casa Grande, AZ 85122
Telephone: (520) 705-5153


ADA Notice

Anyone needing accommodations for the Sun Corridor MPO Meetings, please contact Irene Higgs at 520-705-5143 for assistance, within 48 hours of the scheduled meeting.

Contact Us

Irene Higgs, Executive Director
(520) 705-5143

Jason Hafner, Transportation Planner
(520) 705-5153